Roundabout Views - Fresh Asphalt

Fresh Asphalt Article
10/04/2016 - 2:50pm
Creepy Clown

Imagine that you are walking home after just getting off of work. It's dark outside and you still have a few blocks to walk before you make it home. You start hearing rustling sound from behind you, so you turn to look and come face to face with a clown.

Fresh Asphalt Article
09/28/2016 - 6:31pm
Stacked Books

Have you ever read a story that just seemed to be like every other story? Or a story that starts out with an everyday life moment such as waking up, brushing teeth, or going to work etc? 

Fresh Asphalt Article
09/12/2016 - 8:34pm
Star Trek  Enterprise Battleship

Traveling to other planets may soon be a reality thanks to Star Trek, one of the most influential fictional universes ever created. The hit series that first emerged in the 1960s has given humanity quite a few revolutionary ideas in the way of technology.

Fresh Asphalt Article
08/16/2016 - 10:40pm
Fire Breathing Dragon

How are science fiction and fantasy fiction literature defined? Are their certain criteria that need to be met? Should these genres continue to constantly center around social commentary? For decades, science fiction has been strongly defined by the portrayal of societal issues and how they affect or could affect the general populace, hence the alternative genre title of speculative fiction.

Fresh Asphalt Article
04/12/2016 - 4:20pm
Human in Panda Bear Costume carrying Baby Panda Bear

Earth hour is an organization out of Singapore directly connected to World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF). Their mission is to unite everyone on the earth to come together to protect the planet. This year their big event occurred on March 19th. Earth hour is an event put on by WWF that promotes taking steps to preserve the planet that we have left by tuning off the lights. For an hour, major monuments and buildings go dark.

Fresh Asphalt Article
04/10/2016 - 5:54pm
Movie Director with Megaphone

Are you a young writer? Are you a writer that isn’t quite sure what to do with your works? Guess what! There is a magazine that you can submit your writing to that has over ONE MILLION READERS!!!! Yes, over one million people could read that poem you just wrote! This magazine takes all sorts of works: poetry, fiction, nonfiction, reviews, etc. And yes, there is also feedback!

Fresh Asphalt Article
04/10/2016 - 2:38pm
DNA Chain

Science fiction has paved the way for greater technology, but what about the consequences? Robert Sawyer, winner of the Hugo, Aurora, and Nebula awards for best science fiction novel of the year, discusses science fiction gives us the freedom to explore the repercussions of advances in science and technology in his article for Slate titled “The Purpose of Science Fiction.”

Fresh Asphalt Article
03/05/2016 - 10:57pm
Lady with a Unicorn

I live for the fantasy genre. I would not be the person I am today if I had not watched Lord of the Rings as a kid. Shy, extremely petite, geeky and awkward, 12-year-old me was afraid of literally (and I mean literally) everything. So when I was introduced to fantasy, it gave me a whole new outlook on life. Every fantasy book I could get my hands on was added to my collection of novels.

Fresh Asphalt Article
02/13/2016 - 11:58pm
Flying Battleship Attacking Sci Fi City

It’s no secret that science fiction has been the inspiration for technology for decades. Star Trek gave us cellphones and tablets. Many speculate we’ll have much more of Star Treks technology in our grasps within the near future, such as the hypospray, tractor beams, and maybe even something akin to a warp drive (this one’s a little more farfetched, but hey, here’s hoping).

Fresh Asphalt Article
02/08/2016 - 10:52pm

Cowley College’s online literary journal, Mile Marker Review, is extremely pleased to announce the publication of our first Flash Fiction Contest winners.

For the contest, writers had to compose a fictional story of 350 words or less, a hefty challenge. We were extremely pleased with all the great submissions, and it was a difficult decision but our editors narrowed down their picks down to six selections in different categories:

Fresh Asphalt Article
12/01/2015 - 3:09pm
Person Holding Humpty Dumpty

Creativity can be very difficult to manage or find at times. I know this from experience. As I searched the web attempting to find something to spark my creativity I chanced upon an article called  "7 Ways to Boost Creativity"  that actually spoke about ways to boost creativity. This article gives the reader seven different ways to boost their creativity and to help the flow of thought move better and at a more constant pace.

Fresh Asphalt Article
11/30/2015 - 5:05pm
Two People Tugging on A Frayed Rope

One of the biggest struggles as a writer is to set up tension. Everything in a story revolves around tension. Romance, horror, and character development – all of these things have tension and a great deal of it. So if it’s the basis of nearly every story’s true element, then why is it so hard to create, especially for amateurs like myself?

Fresh Asphalt Article
11/12/2015 - 3:54pm
Man sleeping on his homework

A sleep schedule is something sacred; something that no man or beast or even God should disturbed. It is more than sacred, it is a sanctuary to those without an all mighty belief.

Fresh Asphalt Article
11/12/2015 - 10:20am

ANNOUNCEMENT: Mile Marker Review is currently holding a FLASH FICTION CONTEST, meaning stories 350 words or less. 

Fresh Asphalt Article
11/04/2015 - 1:44pm
Page with Words Writers Wanted Typed on It

For some, writing is nothing more than a creative tonic, therapy.  But for others, we want more.  We want a livelihood.  A daunting task to be sure. Where to begin?  Where to look? And most importantly, where the money? 

Fresh Asphalt Article
10/15/2015 - 12:17pm
Writer at Typewriter

As writers we’re always asking why. Why do we do this? Why are our characters this way? Why can we never find time to write? Why can we never find ideas to write about?

Fresh Asphalt Article
09/29/2015 - 4:14pm
Writer with typewriter and crumpled papers all around him

The villain: the (wo)man, the myth, the legend. Villains often plague the protagonist and tear at our heart. The 'bad guy' qualities make them much more irresistible than the good guy. They have to earn the reader’s appreciation, as opposed to the savior who’s loved automatically. The villain is the darkness where there is light and can give a story its true depth.

Fresh Asphalt Article
09/08/2015 - 4:23pm
Human with Brain Open and Gears Coming Out

It is what as writers, artists, musicians we yearn for (well, the best of us do).  It is what keeps us up at night as we struggle to pound it into the unnatural void in our head, but it is to no avail. 

Fresh Asphalt Article
03/26/2015 - 12:11pm
Silent Films

Mile Marker Review and Creative Claws is having a low/no-budget short silent film contest, with a screening to follow!
The contest will run from March 26 until the deadline on March 30th at noon. (either drop off a DVD or email your file to doomr@cowley.edu)

Fresh Asphalt Article
02/03/2015 - 4:15pm
words have power

As a writer, you must figure out which words would work best for your story.  The power of words can easily make or break what you’re writing, no matter what it is.  You want to be descriptive with your words, but also remember to keep things simple.  Sometimes when a word or words aren’t coming to me, I will take a break, and come back with fresh ideas.  Word description is also a great thing for a fellow editor/reader to look at when reading your wor

Fresh Asphalt Article
12/04/2014 - 4:12pm

A big congratulations goes out to the three winners of the recent writing contest!  There were three divisions for the writing contest: grade school, middle school, and high school.  Each participant also had to have a family member involved with Cowley in some way.