Roundabout Views - Fresh Asphalt

Fresh Asphalt Article
02/08/2016 - 10:52pm

Cowley College’s online literary journal, Mile Marker Review, is extremely pleased to announce the publication of our first Flash Fiction Contest winners.

For the contest, writers had to compose a fictional story of 350 words or less, a hefty challenge. We were extremely pleased with all the great submissions, and it was a difficult decision but our editors narrowed down their picks down to six selections in different categories:

Fresh Asphalt Article
12/01/2015 - 3:09pm
Person Holding Humpty Dumpty

Creativity can be very difficult to manage or find at times. I know this from experience. As I searched the web attempting to find something to spark my creativity I chanced upon an article called  "7 Ways to Boost Creativity"  that actually spoke about ways to boost creativity. This article gives the reader seven different ways to boost their creativity and to help the flow of thought move better and at a more constant pace.

Fresh Asphalt Article
11/30/2015 - 5:05pm
Two People Tugging on A Frayed Rope

One of the biggest struggles as a writer is to set up tension. Everything in a story revolves around tension. Romance, horror, and character development – all of these things have tension and a great deal of it. So if it’s the basis of nearly every story’s true element, then why is it so hard to create, especially for amateurs like myself?

Fresh Asphalt Article
11/12/2015 - 3:54pm
Man sleeping on his homework

A sleep schedule is something sacred; something that no man or beast or even God should disturbed. It is more than sacred, it is a sanctuary to those without an all mighty belief.

Fresh Asphalt Article
11/12/2015 - 10:20am

ANNOUNCEMENT: Mile Marker Review is currently holding a FLASH FICTION CONTEST, meaning stories 350 words or less. 

Fresh Asphalt Article
11/04/2015 - 1:44pm
Page with Words Writers Wanted Typed on It

For some, writing is nothing more than a creative tonic, therapy.  But for others, we want more.  We want a livelihood.  A daunting task to be sure. Where to begin?  Where to look? And most importantly, where the money? 

Fresh Asphalt Article
10/15/2015 - 12:17pm
Writer at Typewriter

As writers we’re always asking why. Why do we do this? Why are our characters this way? Why can we never find time to write? Why can we never find ideas to write about?

Fresh Asphalt Article
09/29/2015 - 4:14pm
Writer with typewriter and crumpled papers all around him

The villain: the (wo)man, the myth, the legend. Villains often plague the protagonist and tear at our heart. The 'bad guy' qualities make them much more irresistible than the good guy. They have to earn the reader’s appreciation, as opposed to the savior who’s loved automatically. The villain is the darkness where there is light and can give a story its true depth.

Fresh Asphalt Article
09/08/2015 - 4:23pm
Human with Brain Open and Gears Coming Out

It is what as writers, artists, musicians we yearn for (well, the best of us do).  It is what keeps us up at night as we struggle to pound it into the unnatural void in our head, but it is to no avail. 

Fresh Asphalt Article
03/26/2015 - 12:11pm
Silent Films

Mile Marker Review and Creative Claws is having a low/no-budget short silent film contest, with a screening to follow!
The contest will run from March 26 until the deadline on March 30th at noon. (either drop off a DVD or email your file to doomr@cowley.edu)

Fresh Asphalt Article
02/03/2015 - 4:15pm
words have power

As a writer, you must figure out which words would work best for your story.  The power of words can easily make or break what you’re writing, no matter what it is.  You want to be descriptive with your words, but also remember to keep things simple.  Sometimes when a word or words aren’t coming to me, I will take a break, and come back with fresh ideas.  Word description is also a great thing for a fellow editor/reader to look at when reading your wor

Fresh Asphalt Article
12/04/2014 - 4:12pm

A big congratulations goes out to the three winners of the recent writing contest!  There were three divisions for the writing contest: grade school, middle school, and high school.  Each participant also had to have a family member involved with Cowley in some way.

Fresh Asphalt Article
12/04/2014 - 1:07pm
Lady with NO IDEA on forehead

Lately, I've been having trouble figuring out what to write. So naturally I went on Google to fix my problem. I found this article and I thought the author had some pretty good ideas. Check it out here.
 

Fresh Asphalt Article
12/03/2014 - 9:16pm
Typewriter

As a writer, there are many things I think about.  I think about all the characters in my stories, how I'm going to begin and end a story, the structure of my poems, and so on.  As a writer, I want to get my work published someday; but as a writer, there is one thing I never thought about.  Entering a writing contest.  Simple and fun, this article talks about all the reasons why us writers should enter more writings into contests.

Fresh Asphalt Article
11/17/2014 - 3:00pm

One of the best things about writing is being able to express yourself through your words.  You can be as free with your thinking as you want.  Not everything has to make sense as long as you understand it.  Unfortunately,  it's not always easy coming up with a story or symbols for your story.  The following article by Gregory Ciotti will help you find different ways to open up your creativ

Fresh Asphalt Article
11/03/2014 - 4:09pm

Horror is one of my all-time favorite genres.   It’s intensifying, provoking, and always good for a scare.  Writer’s like Stephen King make this genre look pretty easy to write, however,  if you’ve ever actually tried writing a story in this genre, you may have come across some difficulties.  This article by Cris Freese should help when you are struggling with writing your thriller.
 

Fresh Asphalt Article
10/30/2014 - 2:44pm

We all have those days. Days when we can't focus. Days when everything and anything sounds better than what's in front of us. Days when your brain can't focus for longer than three seconds at a time.

Fresh Asphalt Article
10/13/2014 - 3:02pm

Creating good main characters are hard enough.  Trying to come up with a name and a good back story for each one can take quite a bit of time.  Trying to come up with a good antagonist can be an even more daunting task than the protagonist in the story.  Everyone loves that simple guy who just wants to do good, but why is the antagonist the way he is?  Luckily, this post written by Laura Wooffitt can help!
 

Fresh Asphalt Article
09/16/2014 - 1:13pm

Love horror or not, everyone has to respect Stephen King. The man is a master. If you've never read his book On Writing, it's a must. I came across this interview the other day and thought it was pretty

Fresh Asphalt Article
09/10/2014 - 1:15pm
Elmore Leonard

One of my favorite writers ever was Elmore Leonard, who just died earlier this year. For the unfamiliar, you might know from movies like Get Shorty or Jackie Brown or the TV show Justified. It's good stuff and his novels are even better. Years ago, he wrote his "Rules for Writing," which are always great. I couldn't think of anything better to have for our first article than that.