Roundabout Views - Fresh Asphalt

Fresh Asphalt Article
11/26/2018 - 2:53pm

A common mistake that a lot of new writers make in their work is that they tend to tell the reader what is going on in a scene instead of showing them. What I mean by this is that many will write that Tim is angry instead of describing his feelings, which creates a better visual for the reader.

Fresh Asphalt Article
11/19/2018 - 10:07pm

I guess it would be fair to start this off by saying that I may have a problem.

Fresh Asphalt Article
10/31/2018 - 1:28pm

Cowley College’s online literary journal, Mile Marker Review, is extremely pleased to announce

Fresh Asphalt Article
10/30/2018 - 7:06pm

Procrastination. We all do it, some of us more than others, but the question is, why?

Fresh Asphalt Article
10/26/2018 - 12:26am

All writers have hobbies that they probably shouldn’t admit to publicly.  Whether they have an uncomfortable amount of knowledge about serial killers, or still unabashedly love the minions, everyone has a skeleton in their closet.

Fresh Asphalt Article
10/16/2018 - 11:19am

Growing up in a small town there wasn’t much a person could do, so I ended up watching a lot of movies. One of them happened to be the movie “Waitress”.

Fresh Asphalt Article
10/15/2018 - 2:36pm

October has arrived, and it’s brought poor dietary decisions with it. For those of you that can’t work out their holiday spirit by scaring kids and devouring snickers alone, we at Mile Marker have got your back.

Fresh Asphalt Article
10/05/2018 - 9:36pm

As a writer, I try to draw inspiration from many different types of media. This ranges from the obvious choices, such as books and TV, to video games.

Fresh Asphalt Article
09/21/2018 - 4:54pm

“I like to get ten pages a day, which amounts to 2,000 words. That’s 180,000 words over a three-month span, a goodish length for a book — something in which the reader can get happily lost, if the tale is done well and stays fresh.”

― Stephen King, On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft

Fresh Asphalt Article
09/14/2018 - 10:56pm

Nothing screams adventure quite like a mysterious, abandoned city for an ancient civilization or previously undiscovered temple.

Fresh Asphalt Article
09/07/2018 - 4:57pm

Look, we here at Milemarker know all about how tough it can be to find inspiration. I myself haven’t had an inspired thought in years.

Fresh Asphalt Article
10/11/2016 - 11:39am
2016 Flash Fiction Winners

Cowley College’s online literary journal, Mile Marker Review,  is extremely pleased to announce the publication of our second annual Flash Fiction Contest winners.

Fresh Asphalt Article
10/04/2016 - 2:50pm
Creepy Clown

Imagine that you are walking home after just getting off of work. It's dark outside and you still have a few blocks to walk before you make it home. You start hearing rustling sound from behind you, so you turn to look and come face to face with a clown.

Fresh Asphalt Article
09/28/2016 - 6:31pm
Stacked Books

Have you ever read a story that just seemed to be like every other story? Or a story that starts out with an everyday life moment such as waking up, brushing teeth, or going to work etc? 

Fresh Asphalt Article
09/12/2016 - 8:34pm
Star Trek  Enterprise Battleship

Traveling to other planets may soon be a reality thanks to Star Trek, one of the most influential fictional universes ever created. The hit series that first emerged in the 1960s has given humanity quite a few revolutionary ideas in the way of technology.

Fresh Asphalt Article
08/16/2016 - 10:40pm
Fire Breathing Dragon

How are science fiction and fantasy fiction literature defined? Are their certain criteria that need to be met? Should these genres continue to constantly center around social commentary? For decades, science fiction has been strongly defined by the portrayal of societal issues and how they affect or could affect the general populace, hence the alternative genre title of speculative fiction.

Fresh Asphalt Article
04/12/2016 - 4:20pm
Human in Panda Bear Costume carrying Baby Panda Bear

Earth hour is an organization out of Singapore directly connected to World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF). Their mission is to unite everyone on the earth to come together to protect the planet. This year their big event occurred on March 19th. Earth hour is an event put on by WWF that promotes taking steps to preserve the planet that we have left by tuning off the lights. For an hour, major monuments and buildings go dark.

Fresh Asphalt Article
04/10/2016 - 5:54pm
Movie Director with Megaphone

Are you a young writer? Are you a writer that isn’t quite sure what to do with your works? Guess what! There is a magazine that you can submit your writing to that has over ONE MILLION READERS!!!! Yes, over one million people could read that poem you just wrote! This magazine takes all sorts of works: poetry, fiction, nonfiction, reviews, etc. And yes, there is also feedback!

Fresh Asphalt Article
04/10/2016 - 2:38pm
DNA Chain

Science fiction has paved the way for greater technology, but what about the consequences? Robert Sawyer, winner of the Hugo, Aurora, and Nebula awards for best science fiction novel of the year, discusses science fiction gives us the freedom to explore the repercussions of advances in science and technology in his article for Slate titled “The Purpose of Science Fiction.”

Fresh Asphalt Article
03/05/2016 - 10:57pm
Lady with a Unicorn

I live for the fantasy genre. I would not be the person I am today if I had not watched Lord of the Rings as a kid. Shy, extremely petite, geeky and awkward, 12-year-old me was afraid of literally (and I mean literally) everything. So when I was introduced to fantasy, it gave me a whole new outlook on life. Every fantasy book I could get my hands on was added to my collection of novels.

Fresh Asphalt Article
02/13/2016 - 11:58pm
Flying Battleship Attacking Sci Fi City

It’s no secret that science fiction has been the inspiration for technology for decades. Star Trek gave us cellphones and tablets. Many speculate we’ll have much more of Star Treks technology in our grasps within the near future, such as the hypospray, tractor beams, and maybe even something akin to a warp drive (this one’s a little more farfetched, but hey, here’s hoping).